En Espanol
June07MasterHead Logo June07MasterHead Parent June07MastHead Student June07MasteHead Staff
June07 Bkg_Nav_Top
June07 Bkg_Nav_Bottom
2010-2011 School Board Members

District Representation
Carol J. Cook, Chairperson - Single Member District #5
Robin L. Wikle, Vice Chairperson - Single Member District #4
Janet R. Clark - At Large District #1
Terry Krassner - At Large District #2
Peggy L. O’Shea - At Large District #3
Linda S. Lerner - Single Member District #6
Lewis Williams - Single Member District #7
The mission of the Pinellas County School Board is to provide the best opportunities for all students to succeed by adopting policies that ensure continual improvement of
highest student achievement, safe learning environment and effective efficient operation.  As the governing body of the Pinellas County school district, the school board is responsible for the control, operation, organization, management and administration of schools in Pinellas County "pursuant to the provisions and minimum standards prescribed by Florida Statutes and the State Board of Education Rules." Among its other responsibilities, the board determines the rules necessary for the district's operation and general improvement. For a further description of the board's duties, see Bylaws in the district's policy manual.

The Pinellas County School Board consists of seven members who should be qualified electors of the school district. Three members shall be elected at-large by the qualified voters of the entire school district. Four members shall be elected from single-member districts by the voters who reside in the single-member district. Each of those four members is required to reside within the single-member district from which he or she is elected. All seven members will represent the entire district. The board appoints a superintendent, who serves as chief administrative officer of Pinellas County Schools. The Board employs the General Counsel, who reports directly to the Board, and the two Associate Counsel, who report directly to the General Counsel.

Organizational Structure of Pinellas County Schools

The board elects its chairperson and vice chairperson annually. Elected in November 2010, the chairperson is Mrs. Carol J. Cook and the vice chairperson is Ms. Robin L. Wikle.

Board meetings are held twice monthly during most months.
The public is encouraged to contact the School Board members on any issue. You may contact the entire board or an individual member through the School Board Office. Click here for contact information.

Calendar   |   Intranet   |   Contact Us   |   Suggestion Box   |   Site Map

The School Board of Pinellas County, Florida, prohibits any and all forms of discrimination and harassment based on race, color, sex, religion, national origin, marital status, age, sexual orientation or disability in any of its programs, services or activities.
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this agency by phone or in writing.

© Copyright 2009, Pinellas County Schools. All rights reserved.
301 Fourth St. SW
Largo, FL 33770
(727) 588-6000